I love Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. I absolutely love her work. I was first introduced to her writing when I volunteered with a literary agent who happened to be her agent on Purple Hibiscus. (I worked just out of sheer love of reading!) I read a galley copy of Purple Hibiscus and I was hooked. It is a coming-of-age story that I could relate to on so many levels. From that point on I’ve tried to find and read ALL of her published works.

adichieChimamanda Ngozi Adichie, the author of the Orange Prize-winning novel Half of a Yellow Sun (HarperCollins, 2006), has now compiled a collection of compelling short stories in The Thing Around Your Neck (Fourth Estate, 2009).

Maybe it has something to do with my (sometimes) short attention span but I do have a special fondness for short fiction.  And from the reviews I’ve read, I can imagine seeing myself or people I know in many of these stories.  I’ve also already read some of the stories when they were previously published. I’ve listed some of them below with their original publication and alternate title if applicable:

“Jumping Monkey Hill” in Granta 95: Loved Ones
“Cell One” in The New Yorker
“The Headstrong Historian” in The New Yorker
“The Thing Around your Neck” in Prospect 99
“Ghosts” in Zoetrope: All-Story

I’m still anxiously awaiting my copy of the book, however.

Listen to Irritation And Space: A Nigerian Writer In America – a recent NPR conversation with Chimamanda Adichie.

